March 25, 2005

  • Link to my NEW book http://www.cafepress.com/assortedfruits


    And from the book: two poems.


    “Raga Kalvati”

    ________________________________

    night-gat swim, the oil-sea

    i dream     i dream

    of the moon shadow

    of a silver shimmer

    singing, singing,

    i dream     i dream

    of the black salt raga

    humming, humming,

    the planet heart ever combing the waves

    starspeck marine of lost souls

    crying, crying,

    i dream     i dream

    of the drut teental salavia water

    my hot fireskin in coolness

    floating, floating,

    song cradling an alap of sky

    in cloud baked stars

    i dream     i dream

    the tala of my icebreath

    will end the sorrow of blackfig purple

    greeting, greeting,

    the ocean without the crunching

    sound of killing tanks

    grinding, grinding,

    the sand-dune drink of dust

    i dream     i dream

    of a land with a god of many hopes

    leading the white rhino to the pastures

    where blood does not drip

    its child-death laughter

    sobbing, sobbing,

    i dream     i dream

    and the fishy depths surround me forever

    singing, singing,

    the moonglow ripples of the hot night

    i dream     i dream

    of the raga kalavati

    sung at my uniting of my soul with water

    longing, longing,

    to take my immortal spores across the sea

    and leave man alone to fight in my name.


    Lord Pineapple

     

    ————-

     


    “I rediscovered the unworn world” (Patrick Kavanagh)



    Come easy to this unworn world,

    where life and death go un-treated;

    but where there is still the freshness,

    where there is still the unstale’d.



    It was never easy to see the world as new

    when one is their-self crusting old,

    when one has drank the wine of it’s soul

    and ate the plants of it’s dying light.



    But I know I have re-discovered you

    whenever I write a poem at all,

    whenever the clouds silk in cold

    or are baked in an oven of suns.



    An unworn world that’s still soaks life,

    billions of people each with different eyes

    that look in wonder out of different brains,

    and all using very different words.



    If I wore a crown every day

    I could not have so much power

    as when I touch a silver leaf

    or feel a redbrick factory.



    After all I have suffered in my days

    I still want to rise up again

    out of the ashes of silence,

    to re-discover the unworn world

    in the evening of my dreams,





    The Poet Known as “Empty Chairs”


    _____________

     

    Link to well…check it PLEASE! For_Terry

Comments (34)

  • rava kalvati was indescribably amazing…

    M.A.

  • Curious interest and so much depth…

  • Sorry you are so tired…and yes it is most confusing when reading when tired…
    I want to meet you when you do get over to this side of the world
    I *smile*

  • rava kalvati–haunting and lovely. I want to read it again and again.

  • The book looks great!

  • Words of wonder

  • id definitely check the book out.

    but im not sure its available here…hmmm..

    ill try to find it.

  • Hey – thanks for the sweet words.

    Also, I just bought your book. So, can I get it autographed? It’s gotta be worth a awful lot that way, huh? :D

    Seriously – can’t wait to see it!

    Get some rest and feel better.

  • Woot! *happy dances*

  • This is excellent, excellent Poetry (with a capital P). I am extremely jealous of your abilty to turn a phrase. Are these both new? they both seem timeless.

  • I am so excited for you!  What a wonderful idea!

  • You  HAVE  a way with words   …..    @-}-}-

    Happy Holidays!

  • “i dream of a land with a god of many hopes”

    Sometimes a line just grabs you and won’t let go – this one does that for me.  I think that’s a good thing :)

  • We came from the see and we will go back to the ocean,,,witch one?
    Very good idea to publish your book.I am sure a lot of Xangian will get it.

  • and your heart opens and your pen moves…WOW….huggs…Sassy

  • Dear Terry,

    I always feel as if I don’t come over and read your stuff that often, but just wanted to let you know I especially like the “work” of Rev. Toby. The “empty chairs” poem above is magnificent. “when one has drank the wine of it’s soul”, and the entire fourth stanza are my favorite parts. Nice to see you’ve published another book. And good luck on getting over to visit the States. I wish I could travel to England, the “land of poetry”, myself.  A friend of mine visited the English country side two years ago, went visiting some castles, and stayed in a bed and breakfast by the sea in summer. Her photos were fantastic. I’d like to see the country side, the seaside, and the gritty London city scapes as well.

    But money problems and time are the evil mongerers of dreams and wishes.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • Congratulations on your book, Terry! Once I get some money, I’m going to try to get it!

    <33 Sarah

  • Yeah, I’m going to get your book as soon as my dad consents to giving me some money because as of now, I’m broke from spending too much money on other people. At any rate, thank you so much for joining my blogring. It really means a lot to me.

    Plus, you’re from Oxford, which is so fucking awesome you have no idea. I always wanted to live in England.

    -Lord Oscar Durant/Katherine

  • Raga Kalvati was absolutely amazing. I just loved it! You are such an awesome writer and as always, I love reading your poetry and stories! Have a great weekend and a very Happy Easter as well.  

  • Thanks for the comment on my site…I think…

    Truth is, I do visit LOTS and LOTS of blogs. I just don’t comment much. By the way, I still stand by my original statement on House of Leaves

  • I appreciate your comment about bush. When you mention his ‘lap dog’, are you referring to Blair?

  • “I rediscovered the unworn world”  This is extremely spell-binding stuff. Again, reveals so much of the inner person. The Rev is as you say, quite religious, yes. But orthodox “religion” rejected the Christ Who was able to save their souls. Turning the love of God into a set of ‘dos’ and ‘don’t’ is criminal, worse, it sends men to a Christless eternity. LP, your soul is sin-sick like mine was, it would heal the whole of you. The heart is sore. The mind tormented without the quickening Ray of Light. Ask ~ it is that simple.

  • Thank you for the kind words when you visited my site. I am no longer a believer myself, in organized religion; however, I named my son after the prophet Elijah. He definitely has the depth and passion that his name describes.

  • You never cease to amaze me. :D Boy, am I glad that I found you.

  • Just wonderful, as always! Congrats on the book also!

  • lord this is the best  i have read of ur work  i felt the sandy grit  & i know the heat of upper atmospheres all too well mmm   the next poem was  deeply rich as well   thanx magi

  • ps  nice stuff in ur shop lord  i hope u sell out  magi

  • LordPinapple  —— I mean this in a nice way,,,,, I have no wordz for the comment that u give me

  • Ya, es ist gut.

  • ahh…i’m so loving the second poem! the first one is so dream like…beautiful!

  • rava kalvati was both interesting and lovely

  • Thanks for stopping by!!! Hope you had a great Easter!

    <3 Danielle*

  • Your “I Dream” poem held me, enchanted, to my spot… its exactly how dreams should be, haunting, lovely, taunting…

    But I know I have re-discovered you
    whenever I write a poem at all,”

    this holds me raptly…. I would love to get a copy of your book, LordP….

    with utmost respect,

    -el

  • I have been intrigued by the fist poem ” Raga kalvati and I went on Gogol for more informations . I found out you have at least a site .about this poem with others :the mirror ,  man as fine as sand , a planet called paradise . There is even a French translation .!!!! This site is under the name Lord Pinapple . Why not your true name ? It seems the poet Kalvati who lives in London inspires you . I thank you for teaching me about this asian  poetry .

    In friendship

    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories