March 3, 2005

  • Thank-You.



    I’ve had my engine stoked now

    for many years

    by a grateful God.



    I have seen life

    and lived from it.

    I have seen death

    and learnt from it.

    I have seen happiness

    and I have seen grief.



    I thank Him

    that I am here right now

    starching my dog-collar,

    cooking my little dinner

    and holding my faithful bible.



    I know I could have done more,

    what honest man can say otherwise?

    What man can sit back and reflect

    that he had done it all?



    It is snowing outside,

    I see each unique flake

    as a reminder of Him,

    and I thank him for my living on

    when so many,

    so much more deserving than I,

    have passed away.



    I have my faults,

    I look at pretty women with lust,

    I do not always say my prayers…

    but what man can look in the mirror,

    and see the reflection

    with the perfection

    of a small child?



    I must go to bed now,

    perhaps I can make a sermon

    of these thoughts

    for my faithful flock

    of 37.





    The Reverend Tobias Trontby. +

     

    ———-

     


    Cursing All Bar One.

    _________________

    We curse the stones

    that move.



    We curse the wind

    and rain.



    We curse very time itself

    and entrophic pain.



    We curse the seas

    and the skies,



    And we curse the heavens

    too.



    The only thing

    that we can not curse



    Is our special love

    for you.





    Marie St. Denis.

    ———

Comments (46)

  • I like the second poem a lot.

    And I like fish & chips and I like soccer. But, shouldn’t you say ‘football’ instead of soccer since you’re from way over yonder?

    -Sarah

  • Men of the cloth are always a mess – that’s what my tarot teacher said – either drugs or sex… and I did know a few, not all the same religion either, and, hmmn, what my tarot teacher said seems true… brilliant poems, as ever- xo

  • The Rev. is surely in top form. 

  • Thanks for the words. Didn’t you know that babies float?

  • Sounds like most Revs I know.

  • ryc: of course, but it will take a bit longer

  • These are really great. I love Rev. Toby

    Yes! you are right… rtc: It is Le Grand Place in Brussels.
    Very good

    I hope you are well.

  • different angles on thanks?

  • It’s amazing how each of your character personae can take on such a different tone each.

    Oh, and ryc…1.) Be Nasty to Women Day? Awww, rats! I hate abuse and self-abuse! 2.) Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition! hahahahaha!

  • I like both of these poems and the points they make… For I have my faults too. =)

  • I used to love listening to Pam Ayers on the T.V. I think her accent made her more funny. I wonder what happened to her is she still alive ,as we never get news of her over here. Cheers Marj

  • The first work.. was great to read, it gave off a very great feeling, of peaceful acceptance, acceptance of life and the way it was lived.
    The second was just cute. i loved it.. at the end i was like aww.

    well hope u have a great day
    crystal

  • Hello there. Great job. I like it.

  • Great poetry, and interesting transition from the priest to the lines of curses. Thank you for your criticisms, they are very helpful.

    M.A.

  • You have gotten the Reverend down so well; it always feels  truthful.

  • you dear friend have made me thankful that I am here to see the snow…every lasta flake of them…giggles   very nice writings…huggs…sassy

  • I like the one about God

  • Beautiful….~Jaime~

  • I like both poems a lot, but the second one really captured my attention! Take care and have a happy Friday!

  • lord   my face is soaking wet  enuf said  thanx  magi

  • Interesting post re: Catholic Priest. You write this so very well. The second, still musing over that one ~ have a good day!

  • Introspective. You always give me something to think about. Thank You.

  • Thank you LP–you have mastered the Rev. Don’t we curse what we don’t understand? Constant pain would make one weary and curse all. Hopeful thoughts sent your way today.
    Hugs

  • Poor Rev.  All lust and no loving….  I really liked the second poem.  Has a nice flavor to it.

  • A wonderful read as usual.  I always enjoy a visit to your site.  You understand the inner mind so well

  • we curse too much    especially the stones that move  & sadly the other elementals  without a word   isn’t Pineapple the  friut of royality ?  i read that somewhere along with an extensive history    somewhere  sometime  these were  moving writings  blue star baby

  • I always find your poetry refreshing. A story or a poem or both. :)

  • my my my.

    what a pleasant read.

  • The same snow flakes are coming down hier too, they are all unique,
    and tomorrow they all been gone, but the journey will continue, where? who knows,
    Cursing is the same as praying.

  • The same snow flakes are coming down hier too, they are all unique,
    and tomorrow they all been gone, but the journey will continue, where? who knows,
    Cursing is the same as praying.

  • Hello? Orangena closed her site down?

  • Thanks for commenting! ~Jaime~

  • I know it is nothing like it, but that second poem reminds me of Invictus, which has always been a favorite of mine.

  • ah..it’s always the small gatherings amongst the weary that bring joy..

    a reverend’s flock is his life..

    Great stuff! *hugs*

    Sheri

  • You asked how many people were murdered in my city that weren’t nutters themselves….ummm none. well….ok I’ll admit to one, as were not entirely sure of the circumstances (man was found murdered outside a bar,so we have to assume he wasn’t a nut) But I have lived here for 16 years and know of 5 murders in that time. 4 of them were nutters!

  • I love your work….I like the second poem especially, although brief, it is concise.

    RYC: I think it’s just the winter blahs effecting my muse. Spring will be coming soon and with it comes quite an onslaught of poetic words…so much in fact, that I have to scramble to keep up with what flows in my head. Well that’s how it’s been the past few years, with the onset of Spring anyway…I’m not hoping for any deviation from the pattern. lol

    Also, I will have to check into thoise poets you mentioned. I’ve not read their work extensively, as of yet.

  • Your second poem made my heart fluttery and filled it with such hope. Heck, it even made me smile. Thanks a lot. I’m glad that I decided to read my subscriptions, instead of studying biology! Hahaha.

  • I especially like the second one.  It has a nice pay off!

    Hope all is well with you. 

  • Well I am back once more and so glad to see you are still at the top of your game. Come see me!
    Marnie

  • I love the Reverend.  :)

  • A truly poignant and marvelous entry. Thank you for providing me with good poetry to read.

    ~V

  • RYC – what makes you say that? If i was subbed to you – and then lost you I also lost some other people and couldnt remember who i was subbed to – so have been waiting for them to come shout at me lolololol

  • I like especially the first poem because it says well what a simple man feels when he is getting old . A kind of disenchantment but not completely . This man did in his life what he could .

    The second poem is a clever antithesis between the bad things we think and Love who is above all .

    In friendship

    Michel

  • You are quick on your . . .pen, very witty response. OK you have me there, Sarahs are not 100% as none of us are. I read poem 5, quite long, it is the combination of qualities or features that distinguishes one person, group, or thing from another, distorted like a cartoon. It is little ‘truisms’ from the L.P. put in prose. No?

  • I think I mispelled that as I often do. I mean true-isms. Your point of view coming forth bleeding out in these characters you create. Sometimes it is, seemingly, “just for fun” other times it is quite a sincere jab at a person or lifestyle or belief. It is interesting. I read between the lines that you are in search of Truth. Yes?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories