April 17, 2004

  • Winzig Kindlechbloggen 7



    bba-bbe

    _______



    bba

    For the first time since dying,

    I could see how small we were,

    and how many races of strange beings

    insist that God looks just like them



    as if anyone could ever know.





    bbb

    I dug a hole.

    It was for a girl of about four years old.

    “Bye-bye” she smiled

    before my spade hit her across the head.



    I could not have seen her as human

    or feel I had done anything wrong

    for she did not understand our freedom

    and had come from a country

    where they did not believe

    that our president

    was in fact our Messiah.



    I dug another hole.

    I waved our flag.





    bbc

    I saw a man about a moon

    for I needed one for my own private sky,

    I needed a moon to look up to

    to show how rich I was.



    My moon was not to be a dead moon,

    my moon was not to be full of holes.



    I wanted a living moon

    all for myself.



    And if anyone else looked up at my moon

    I would have them thrown in jail,

    they have their own moon to look at

    they do not need to look at mine.



    I saw a man about a moon,

    I also brought an Earth.





    bbd

    The Indian raga played in the back-ground.

    Mr. Khan was good at the sitar

    and he had some great backing too

    on this very hot night.



    I joined the others later

    on the Mexician border

    I needed to get to Mexico

    to feed my family



    I could not live in America any longer

    and watch my children die so poor,

    not when I could swim the river

    to the rich Spanish lands.



    They shot Mr. Khan that night,

    Joe Smith, his family too;

    they hung the bodies up on the wires,

    for we were not supposed to leave the land of the free

    and the dying.





    bbe

    “Is that cross heavy Jesus?”

    “It is heavy.”

    “Is it well crafted Jesus?”

    “It is made out of good strong wood from a tree outside the City Of David. It is well crafted. It will hold me until I die.”

    “How do you know all that Jesus?”

    “I made it myself my friend, I was a carpenter.”





    Joseph Von Schendorf

Comments (38)

  • the last is the most powerful

  • by the way, do you know why saldne67 blocked me? maybe it was after i told her i was 13…

  • oh…these are amazing. You have rendered me speechless.  Every single one was awe-inspiring.

  • HAHA…love it…you can compliment youself..well!!
    But I like the imagination put into the works of creation!!!
    Good show old bean!!!    Zach

  • Wow, where do you find these things?  You are quite a creative writer and researcher.  I never know what to find when I come here and it is entertaining!!!

  • art is too small a word to encompass what you create.  infinite blessings 

  • This Von Schendorf person writes some very powerful stuff. What do the ‘bba’ etc. mean? Are they and integral part of the work? They are a bit distracting to me, but easy enough to ignore if that’s how one should treat them.

  • powerful and creative..”i needed a moon to look up to to show how rich i was….i wanted a living moon all for myself”..this shows the arrogance of so many of mankind

  • you have bad eyes, i have bad spelling.

    next post i will make font 20 &spell check.

  • How do you know that no one cares?

  • Wow, powerful and well-written indeed.

  • Concerning your comment on my xanga: Well, as always, I welcome your comments because I think highly of your writing. Just as you are unique, I guess I have a small bit of that myself. Although not as skilled and crafted in my poetry use, I am not really going for that. My personality reflects that and I guess you would have to really know me personally. I do use words like “my humble abode” quite often. In fact I am full of little old time words such as that because I was mostly raised by my grandmother who spoke to me with those little type phrases and I grew to use those. In this writing I had attached a little paragraph with it and I should have posted it. I tend to just write and like my drawings most of my attempts at poetry are just that, words not thought about but I just write. Whether or not I offend those who are much above me in their abilities to write poetry, I am not really that interested. I guess the bottom line here is, I will certainly use your advice when I do some serious poetry (whenever that will be ) but right now I think I will just sit here in my humble little abode and write the first thing that pops in my mind. And thank you much Lord Pineapple, because your opinions and advice mean so much and really you have helped me strenghten my writing even when I am not really trying to

    Oh, and youe last….bbe

    I loved it

  • All of them quite fine — I especially enjoyed bbb, bbc & bbe

    Thank you again and again

  • About your comment: Of course I believe in the right to have freedom of speech, and I believe people have a right to their opinions, my complaint was about specifically my Husband and my Mother who both are very uninformed individuals who enjoy spouting out opinions on topics they really have no understanding of.
    Do you remember the show “All in the family”? Think Archie Bunker and his male chauvinistic attitude, or his racism…there you have my Husband and Mother.
    I am not entirely sure I understand your poetry, but it is quite powerful. Thanks for sharing it with us in xangaland. :)
    Anyhow, thanks for your comment. Come back and visit anytime.

  • AAb. Of course they know, my friend Simon the spider told me that God is a very big spider.

    Very good written.

    Hava

  • aaf (or is it bbf?)–

             I need to retire to my room now
             and put up some more walls.
             The old walls are crumbling
             and too much of me is showing.

    Thanks for all you do and all you write and all you say, none of which are the same thing but they’re all equally intriguing.

  • And I like that mad brain! Hehe! :)

  • I like bba the best. It has a truth to it that I can identify with.

  • I am in awe… I am disturbed and saddened. These powerful verses do what poetry is supposed to do. Thank you for sharing them

  • I have a 4 year old little girl.  Need I say more?

  • hi, have a nice day

  • Hahah I love the one about moons and the one about Jesus.

    ~V

  • thank you.

    -Derick

  • Those final lines will remain written on  my heart….Thank you, my friend!!

  • ……and I am confused………but intrigued….

  • i am still here and you are still brilliant…i look forward to your every post…good and bad…from the all of yous’…Dottie

  • you are a no talent ass clown…

    the end

  • I really like this .

  • It seems like these Winzig Kindlechbloggen are pretty bitter, but then again they feel a little whimsical in the minimalistic presentation…I just don’t know, I’m not smart enough for ya!

  • Although I find these interesting viewpoints, I feel some of them are warped. 

    bba = terrific

    bbb = not rational

    bbc = just who is this?  This must be someone overpoweringly wealthy and irrepressibly powerful.  In my dreams I don’t know anyone quite like this.

    bbd = not rational

    bbe = terrific

    I see most of what is written here as undermining.  Maybe you’re correct, maybe America is now filled with people who are attempting to destroy it.  Maybe these people are those in power, I certainly am not happy with all of the governing parties.  But, when I look at the masses who live in America, I see many who are here who came here to be educated and to look toward a better dream than they had elsewhere.  These people are here out of the love and goodness of the heart of America, who has been willing for years to give and to educate and did it with open arms.  What we got by droves (not all) was people who have been planning for years to destroy what America has stood for.  I will remind you that America has given in money, time, energy, education, military assistance and more all over the globe.  Yes, we have made mistakes but looking at the history of the world, I see a lot of mistakes including many come from Europe and England as one of the more powerful has done one hell of a poor track record in many areas.  Say what you will, I have to say I was born in the United States of America, have lived my whole life here and will die in The United States of America and will do it gladly over and above any other place on this Earth even with her mistakes. 

    I think some of your evaluation just isn’t quite right.  But, I respect your opinion. 

  • I’ll get you critics with an even more controversal entry!

  • Just as I thought, you are thinking and writing again.  We are reading, keep writing.  Cyn

  • I really liked that last one. Mindblowing.

    Here in the States, our constitutional freedoms are on the decline. I see it getting worse than you can imagine. Funny thing is, immigrants come to America, earn their degrees, and stay here. In this town, there are a lot of Indians who became doctors and settled down. Three of them are Ob-Gyn. At least two of the Chinese restaurants are owned and operated by Chinese immigrants or second-generation descendants. In Texas, many of the convenience stores were owned by Koreans. The Mexicans who come to America work harder than the people born here. And there are many Filipinos here, too. One is a doctor from the Philipines, putting his children through medical training at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia.

    As for Pres. Bush… I don’t see him as being the Messiah. I would be bold enough to call him America’s first Pope, however.

    Keep up the excellent work, mi amigo.

    Jim

  • I really love these last two poems.  I really hope you continue on this theme sometime in the future.

  • Terry, please change the “failed” list on Clowne from Clown. You never have nor will you ever fail at anything. Your blogs are proof positive!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories